I work at an international school. An international school which seems to celebrate more American holidays than American schools do these days.  I often ponder where the limits are and what we can and cannot do. For example, we do not celebrate Halloween but we celebrate “Night of the Candy.”  Okay. I’m down.

During the fall, all my kids want to do is draw jack-o-lanterns.  I was given strict information on this.  No faces.  Again, okay.  So I did faceless flying bats for first grade and pumpkin patches for Kinders. For second, I wanted to do something a little more advanced.  I wanted to combine painting with oil pastels and have students cut and paste.  So the first task was to paint a pumpkin, but the rest was really up to them.  They could make something for fall, or something for Halloween.  They had to do their paintings on one kind of paper, cut out this work (mainly pumpkins), and glue them to either a black or blue piece of construction paper.  Then they had to fill in the rest with oil pastels.  It was interesting to watch students place their pumpkins on their papers and figure out how to place other things around them to convey their stories.

The results are mixed, but lots of fun.  We got a little bit of everything in this one, which is great because it really represents our school’s different cultures.

