I love making monsters.  Monsters are super fun because anything goes with them.  You don’t have to make them look like anything except what you want them to be.  They can have eyes on their fingers, their toes, their stomachs.  They can be pretty or ugly or something in-between.  Sky is the limit and there is no pressure.  Just fun.

When I had my second grade make monsters,  I wanted them to use up an entire piece of black construction paper.  We had just learned how to blend chalk and paint with glue, so I wanted them to use these materials in their creations.  I gave them a sample.  Then I gave them some printouts of eyes, mouths, and bodies they could use for idea starters.  I even tried to have them make monsters out of their first initials.  I think this would be a good idea to do for next year.

Students had a blast talking about their monsters, practicing and brainstorming what they would look like.  Instead of using glue, they used silver Sharpie marker to give the final details. I was afraid the markers would get ruined from the chalk but they all made it. I like the silver touches and want more metallic Sharpie colors next year.

IMG_0271The hardest part was cutting the monsters out.  Lots of jagged edges so I ended up helping a lot to ensure tentacles stayed put.  After students cut their friends out, I gave each class (I have 4 second grade classes) a very large piece of butcher paper. I gave them the job of deciding what kind of world they wanted their monsters to live in.  Luckily, because of the black paper, all classes decided some sort of space theme would be best.  There was one class in the end which made a night-time cityscape and added buildings, but it still worked for the final thing we ended up doing.

The next step was placing the monsters down on paper to make an interactive mural. This ended up being very fun. Monsters eating each other, or monsters jumping over each other. It all worked.

IMG_0272

As usual, I forgot to take lots of photos.  I have lots of photos of students working together to create the mural but I cannot include them here.  You get to see the end product though.

IMG_0083

These are two strips of butcher paper put together to make one mural.

IMG_0082

For the other mural, I put the cityscape one on the bottom of the coat hooks, and the other one went on top.

IMG_0083 2

IMG_0083 - Version 2Kids love looking at their monsters and the worlds they created.

