Kindergarten is a hard grade for me to teach.  They are very fast.  Very, very fast.  I don’t understand what the hurry is, really; but then again, I am not in Kindergarten. Maybe it is because they live in the moment, maybe it is because adults are always shuffling them here, there, and everywhere.  Maybe it is because their attention spans are much shorter than the older children.  Anyhoo, whatever it is, sometimes I feel I’ve barely cleaned up the materials from the supply table and a little one is coming up to me saying, “I’m done!”  Ugh.

The average lesson takes two days for me to do with them. Since I see Kinder two to three times per week, I go through a lot of material very quickly.  I cannot keep up and I rely on Pinterest and other teacher blogs on a regular basis for ideas and help.  Thank you, art teachers, who graciously give lessons, hints, and validation.  I don’t feel alone with all of you watching my back!

One great thing about Kinders is they love pretty much anything.  They love to color and they love markers.  So, I do lots of lessons in which we learn how to draw something and then we color it.  I love to use the texture rubbing plates on these days because this adds an additional element of surprise and interest in their work.  Here are some samples for when we drew ice cream cones.

IMG_0079

This one is the teacher example.  First we started with the cone, and built mounds of ice cream on top.  Last details were were the table cloth.

This one is my personal favorite.  Umbrella and a hand. Too much good stuff.

IMG_0109

IMG_0100IMG_0104IMG_0111IMG_0106

