One of our invaluable teaching assistants brought me a roll of some kind of translucent paper.  Whenever anyone brings me anything and asks, “Can you use this?” I say, “Yes!” even if its unlikely.  I live in a place where materials are hard to come by and when something comes across your table, you need to grab it.  Its purpose will reveal itself later.

This material reminds me of waxed paper, but it’s not waxy.  Its old.  Really old.  Waxed paper would work just as well for this project but I want to use this stuff up while I’ve got it.

Introducing Stained Glass.  As always, I get to play around first.

Most of my kids have been in either a church, mosque, or some public building in which they’ve seen stained glass.  I show them a few pictures and tell them we are going to do a stained glass project involving this paper and Sharpie markers.

Once they are given their paper, I give them a black Sharpie marker and a ruler.  It is really important that we let our lines dry after we draw each one.  I try to have the kids blow on them, and it works for a little bit.  If the lines don’t dry, they smudge.

Then students get to draw pictures or color in the squares, Piet Mondrian style.  They can do whatever they would like to fill up the space.

The last step is the hardest.  We make frames out of a 12 x 18 in.black construction paper. We fold them in half, and we measure each side using our rulers as a guide. IMG_1152

Then we fold the paper in half and cut on the lines, making sure to turn our scissors at every corner.  You should have a U shaped paper when you are done.

When you unfold the paper, it will show boxes.

IMG_1156

Tape the stained glass paper inside, then glue your frame shut.

IMG_0304

IMG_0307IMG_0308IMG_0306

IMG_5343

IMG_0309

IMG_0301

They are really nice to have up in the halls during the holidays.

 

