Our custodians were scheduled to leave.  This is bad.  Really bad.  We love our custodians and they lost their contract.  22 men who we trust to clean our school, do the necessary hauling of equipment to and fro, and take care of us, were now set to leave our school family and move to Riyadh.  Boo.

We wanted to have a masalama party for them.  This is Arabic for a going-away party.  As usual, when anything happens here, it takes a committee to make it happen.  Everything depends on a small group of people to get ‘er done.  My friend went to the first meeting and before you know it I signed up to help her decorate.  The theme, “Night with the Stars.” My job was to make 22 stars with the custodian’s names on them.

This was my first time doing lettering, and it was so much fun.  I just went on Pinterest and Google images for the fonts.  After school, I sat at at my computer and tried to replicate what I saw.   It took me a long time, but I really like how they came out.

I did all the work in pencil first, focusing on only three different styles of lettering.  Then I filled in spots with silver Sharpie, making some areas thicker than others or putting in more loops or curls.

IMG_0166

The last step was the glitter.  I used Elmer’s spray glue and then used my fingers to salt the glitter onto the stars. If you do something like this, make sure you put butcher paper down before you add the glue. The spray will stick to the table and it took me over a month to scrub it all off.

IMG_0170IMG_0171

Have no photos of what they looked like up on the walls.  And, now our custodians got an extension on their contract so they are not leaving after all.  Yay!

 

 

 

 

