IMG_7954

I did this lesson back in October and have previously posted it under Fall with Kindergarten (last year); however, I think it deserves a revisit. The main thing I did differently on this was a thinking routine.  This routine is “I used to think/Now I think.” It’s great for pre-post assessment, or if you want to change an attitude.  I love spiders.  They are cool. I really dislike it when students freak out of insects and smash them to bits.  It’s all about education, folks.  Leave the spiders alone.

sIMG_7965.jpg

On day one, ask students what they know about the topic.  All answers are accepted. Then you read books, discuss, watch videos, etc.  Then to end the unit, you revisit the chart and see if anything has changed.  Here are some of the art projects too.

 

One of my students drew this during free time.  Spiders are cool.

IMG_7954

